Area Development
Governors from 24 states have formed the Governors' Wind Energy Coalition, a non-partisan group that seeks opportunities for the ongoing development of renewable energy, particularly wind power. In a letter to President Barack Obama, the coalition outlined four goals: adoption of a national renewable electricity standard; support for the construction of new interstate electric transmission capacity; expansion of the U.S. Department of Energy's work with states and the wind industry to accelerate innovation; and adoption of a long-term renewable energy production tax credit. The coalition is led by co-chairs Chet Culver, governor of Iowa, and Tim Pawlenty, governor of Minnesota. The other members are: Governors Arnold Schwarzenegger of California; Bill Ritter of Colorado; Linda Lingle of Hawaii; Pat Quinn of Illinois; Kathleen Sebelius of Kansas; John Baldacci of Maine; Martin O'Malley of Maryland; Deval Patrick of Massachusetts; Jennifer Granholm of Michigan; Brian Schweitzer of Montana; Jon Corzine of New Jersey; Bill Richardson of New Mexico; David Paterson of New York; John Hoeven of North Dakota; Brad Henry of Oklahoma; Ted Kulongoski of Oregon; Edward Rendell of Pennsylvania; Mike Rounds of South Dakota; Christine Gregoire of Washington; Timothy Kaine of Virginia; Joe Manchin III of West Virginia; and Jim Doyle of Wisconsin.